1.10 Asylum: Or Why Would Anyone Want a Job Like That?

When I left my job as a visual merchandiser to pursue my dream of writing full time, I never considered social media as a career. If someone had told me where getting my master’s degree would lead, I probably would have laughed at them. Then I would have asked them – why would anyone want a job like that!?

screen-shot-2014-09-16-at-11-08-06-am

 

 

 

Kat: So. How do you guys know about all this ghost stuff?
Sam: It’s kinda our job.
Kat: Why would anyone want a job like that?
Sam: I had a crappy guidance counselor.

 

 

Life as a Social Media Manager can be hectic. I am a team of 1. Sure, in the office I have support from our in-house Graphic Designers, but the majority of the work that I do, I do alone. #Lonely. I get – and answer – questions at all hours of the day (and night). I attend live events where I post content across platforms (made so much easier now with IFTTT!). I schedule content for a week at a time to represent the brand (which brand? each brand. every brand. What are we talking about again?).

And often, I feel like I’m going insane.

Every business I work for is another “boss,” another demographic to reach, another method to try. It’s more content to create, more content to curate. It’s more more more more. All day long. Social media is an infant that never sleeps, and while it can be cute and fun and give you a few laughs, it also throws up on you. A lot.

My eyes hurt. My head hurts. My neck hurts! And it isn’t just because I’m getting *older,* though I’m sure that’s playing a role. I stare at a screen for far too many hours. I sit too much, look down too much, and watch/read/skim way too many videos/photos/articles/snaps a day.

But the freedom is worth it.

I work in an office three days a week. 3. Count them: One, ahhahaha; Two, ahhahaha, Three, ahah you get the point. That’s nothing. I make my own hours – so if I want to, I can work at 3 a.m., or 10 p.m. I can work from the couch, the car, the airport, or even South Africa (true story, I worked while on vacation in Cape Town). So, there’s that.

And that is pretty fucking awesome.

Leave a Reply

