1.08 Bugs: Being A Social Media Early Adopter

Part of my job is staying up-to-date on trends in social media. This includes changes to Facebook’s algorithm, and fun updates like Instagram’s new in-app shopping features. Part of my job is also staying up-to-date on new and emerging social media platforms.

I have to admit I’m not an early adopter of anything. I tend to stand back and watch from the sidelines, unless something really  sparks my interest. Then I’ll take a closer look, but I may still not create a profile or start Tweeting about it. Ann Smarty outlined the benefits of being an early adopter, and I can’t say that I disagree on any one point; it simply comes down to the individual and what you want to get out of social media.

From a business standpoint, it doesn’t make sense to jump on every trend. If you have a dedicated team with enough resources, then yes, you could absolutely decide to start a profile on every new social media platform and wait to see if it takes off. Being an early adopter allows you to quickly establish yourself as an authority on a platform, which can be beneficial in growing an online community, but that doesn’t mean every platform is right for your business.

If you’re thinking of signing your business up on a new social media platform, ask yourself these questions:

  1. Does the target audience of this platform align with my target audience?
  2. Does the posting preferences of this platform work with my content?
  3. Will this platform help me reach my marketing goals?
  4. Do I have the time to commit to building a new online community?

That last question is very important. Social media is a form of 2-way communication. The community you build will expect to engage with you/your brand, which means you will have to continue to provide useful, informative, content that resonates with your audience. Need help? Contact me for training and social media managment services.

Leave a Reply

